Blessed because of you

Now when Rachel had given birth to Joseph, Jacob said to Laban, “Send me away, that I may go back to my own place and to my own country.  Give me my wives and my children for whom I have served you, and let me go; for you know the work which I have done for you.”  But Laban said to him, “If I have found favor in your sight, stay with me; for I have learned [from the omens in divination and by experience] that the Lord has blessed me because of you.”  –  Genesis 30:25-27

The twenty years that Jacob spent with Laban were happy and prosperous years for him and his family.  We will see Jacob experience trials and tribulations with no more troubles and problems than any other believer seeking to walk in the Spirit.

“Never lagging behind in diligence; aglow in the Spirit, enthusiastically serving the Lord.” – Romans 12:11

Success in ministry is not built on strategy, it’s built on being used by God.  God is already working!  He has worked throughout eternity.  We simply need to cooperate with Him.

For we are God’s fellow workers [His servants working together]; you are         God’s cultivated field [His garden, His vineyard], God’s building.               1 Corinthians 3:9

Amy Grant came out with a song called,”My Father’s Eyes.”  It was a prayer of mine for a long time that people could look at me and see His eyes in mine.  There were many times that prayer was answered and I am thankful for those encouraging moments. Some of those came after I left the employ of a ministry, but they were still encouraging as God used those opportunities to move me to ministry where He needed me.

What I love about God’s favour is that even working in the midst of evil, evil does not touch the ones whom God has given favour.  Yes, life is very difficult, yet God’s favour trumps the evil that wishes to abuse.

The Aaronic blessing found in Numbers is my favourite blessing to pronounce over people.  It is a blessing of God’s favour.  I want nothing more in this life than to walk in it with His eyes watching me move, guiding me in the direction He wants me to go and having His favour as I do and be all that He asks of me.

iStock_000000287289XSmall

Leave a Reply

