Presence of the Spirit

Moreover, because I delight in the house of my God, the [personal] treasure that I have of gold and silver, I give to the house of my God, in addition to all that I have already provided for the holy house:  namely, 3,000 talents of gold from the gold of Ophir, and 7,000 talents of refined silver, to overlay the walls of the buildings;  gold for the things of gold, silver for the things of silver, that is, for all the work to be done by craftsmen. Now who is willing to [b]consecrate himself today to the Lord?” – 1 Chronicles 29:3-5

As a fundraiser, I joy in my ministry of asking people to take part in the Lord’s work.  I must say this is the first time I see the word “consecrate” used in terms of getting ready to give.  Since I am not too sure what that really means – I found this note that might help.

 

Consecration

I.  Service.  This demands

  • a settled purpose
  • an active resolve

II. A willing service.

  • A willing service is the only efficient service
  • The willingness of our service is the only part that is absolutely required

III. An immediate service.

  • Seasons for service are never absent
  • Efficiency and pleasure ensue when service is performed in its own time

IV. The highest service.  The service of the Lord implies —

  • That the mind is perpetually under the influence of Divine truth

  • The holy thoughts are actuated by the presence of the Spirit in them

  • Entire consecration  (Davies, D.D.)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

