Pouring out His Spirit

“If you will turn and pay attention to my rebuke,
Behold, I [Wisdom] will pour out my spirit on you;
I will make my words known to you. – Proverbs 1:23

Special grace is needful to sincere conversion. But that grace shall never be denied to any who seek it. The love of Christ, and the promises mingled with his reproofs, surely should have the attention of every one. It may well be asked, how long men mean to proceed in such a perilous path, when the uncertainty of life and the consequences of dying without Christ are considered? Now sinners live at ease, and set sorrow at defiance; but their calamity will come. Now God is ready to hear their prayers; but then they shall cry in vain. Are we yet despisers of wisdom? Let us hearken diligently, and obey the Lord Jesus, that we may enjoy peace of conscience and confidence in God; be free from evil, in life, in death, and for ever. – Matthew Henry

I will communicate my Spirit to you, and cause you to comprehend my words. “I will open my heart, explain my sentiments, set my counsels before your eyes: I demand only your attention, and your sincere return to me, to truth, to wisdom.” The Hebrew is literally, If you return at my instruction; or, if you turn your face at my correction; “I will make my Spirit flow upon you, as a source or fountain which produceth its water.” Schultens says, the force of the Hebrew word is,נבעnabang, ebullire, ebullium vobis Spiritum meum. I will make my Spirit ebulliate upon you  Thomas Coke

God’s wisdom brings to bear against the sinner indictments for sin that demand repentance. To the one who does repent, God promises the spirit or essence of true wisdom linked to divine revelation.

This is what gives life to religion. We can all relate to Ezekiel’s vision of the valley of dried out, bleached bones. Only the Holy Spirit can give life to the dry bones of religious practice. This is what lifts it above self-improvement and moral reform. Who, with any kind of sense at all, could ask for more than to have God’s Spirit poured out on his or her life?

But this promise is contingent upon our responsiveness to divine wisdom, we must respond to wisdom’s “rebuke.” If you turn to the wisdom of God and heed its command to turn to the ways of God, the Holy Spirit will give you understanding and will help you to walk in the way of God’s truth.

God making known His Word to us after we turn – if we turn, then God will pour out His Spirit upon us.  So we can clearly see and understand that to know God’s Word it will take the Spirit of God to reveal it to us.

The “will pour out” translation uses “naba” from the Hebrew language. It is “causative” in nature, there being a “reason” God does this! This whole “outpouring” is caused by God in Heaven! His idea! His strength involved! His intelligence! Furthermore the idea of “time” built into the verb is that of “duration.” God is still pouring out His Spirit!

 

One comment

  1. chariotoflove · May 27, 2016

    Amen, I enjoyed the read; especially the part about needing the Holy Spirit within us to teach us and reveal God’s understanding and wisdom. I praise him for the continual outpouring of His Spirit and love.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

