Spirit of the Holy God

“I, Nebuchadnezzar, was at rest in my house and prospering in my palace.  I saw a dream and it made me afraid; and the fantasies and thoughts and the visions [that appeared] in my mind as I lay on my bed kept alarming me.  So I gave orders to bring in before me all the wise men of Babylon, so that they might make known to me the interpretation of the dream.  Then the magicians, the enchanters (Magi), the Chaldeans [who were the master astrologers] and the diviners came in, and I told them the dream, but they could not interpret it and make known its meaning to me.  But at last Daniel came in before me, whose name is Belteshazzar, after the name of my god, and in whom is [a]a spirit of the holy gods; and I told the dream to him, saying,  ‘O Belteshazzar, chief of the magicians, because I know that a spirit of the holy gods is in you and no mystery baffles or troubles you, tell me the visions of my dream which I have seen, along with its interpretation. – Daniel 4:4-9

Whether sent for by the king, or brought by another, appears not, but he was last, that it might appear that he only, or rather, his God, who revealed them to him, had the true understanding of these secrets: for if he had come first, or before the rest had tried all their skill in vain, they would have been ready to affirm they understood the interpretation of the dream as well as he, and so God would not have had the glory of it; but now it was evident that the interpretation was from the Spirit of God enlightening the prophet. – Benson

By “spirit of the holy gods” he means the spirit of divination, or prophecy of future contingent things, which God only knows, and reveals by his Spirit as he pleaseth, which none of the magicians were endued with. – Matthew Poole

One wonders how this was received by the pagan idol worshipping Babylonians, not to mention all the rest of the world. As we have alluded to before, the famous “wise men” from the East who worshipped at the foot of Christ’s birthplace had to have heard about the Messiah from someone (Mt 2:2, 11). Given that Nebuchadnezzar’s testimony is given in a way that gives God alone the glory, there is no doubt that God’s Spirit used it to make significant impact on all the earth. Of course, all the earth clearly was not converted but this chapter suggests that they did at least have an opportunity to hear about the great and mighty Most High God Who is able to deliver one from darkness to light, from the dominion of Satan to God (Acts 26:18, Col 1:13note, cp Heb 2:14, 15) and unto His everlasting kingdom and eternal dominion. – Walvoord

Lord, thank you for the Spirit that lives inside of us as believers. He helps us, empowers us, and bears witness to our spirit that we are children of God.

holy-spirit-6

Is the Spirit of the Holy God in you?

THE HOLY SPIRIT

 

Leave a Reply

