Abound in hope

 May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing [through the experience of your faith] that by the power of the Holy Spirit you will abound in hope and overflow with confidence in His promises. – Romans 15:13

If you are severely depressed, you should get a medical check-up. But before you turn to anti-depressant drugs, consider seriously seeking God to fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. This is a most practical verse for us all as we navigate life’s trials! – Steven Cole

Most likely if you’ve been a believer in Jesus long enough, you’ve got some “experiences of your faith.” You can recall those times in your life when God showed up on your behalf and came through for you just when you needed Him the most. No, I’m not saying that every prayer you’ve ever prayed has been answered the way you wanted, I personally I’m thankful for that. But, without question you have seen God move and provide in your life. And, it’s from that experience in Him that you can allow the power of the Holy Spirit to move in you, bringing you hope, expectation and confidence that He will come through for you again. – Johnny Jones

How does one grow in hope during tribulation? Answer: God’s love is poured into our hearts (through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us). – Sam Crabtree

So, it’s not our doing. It’s His doing “by the virtue of the Holy Spirit”. It’s not our effort, our labor, our work, or (heaven forbid!) our virtue, our goodness, our strength. – Liz Curtis Higgs

From a meditation upon God as the God of love, we pass, by an easy transition of thought, to a meditation upon God as the God of Hope. These two titles are beautifully harmonious. Where there is divine love to man, there is divine hope for man. God’s love assures me that I may hope in Him for everything that love can give, for all that belongs to Him is mine. Once assured that I have a home in His heart, I feel that I may repose in every perfection of His nature. What good may we not expect from Him who is love, and who has demonstrated that love in the transcendently great and precious gift of his son? If He has so loved us, what else will not such love bestow of present blessing, and of future good? We have but to know, by the witness of the Spirit, our present standing in Christ, thus to be brought into the experience of present peace, joy, and hope; and to be equally assured that, far away beyond the region of sin and sorrow, there awaits us a heaven where faith is turned into sight, hope is lost in fruition, and love bathes the soul in its boundless sea of bliss.

God of all hope, I come to you now because I truly have nowhere else to turn. All appears hopeless, Lord, because of______ .Despite circumstances, however, I turn to you because Your WORD declares that Christ in me is the HOPE OF GLORY. Lord Jesus Christ, fill my life with Your HOPE so that I may be able to glorify You in the midst of suffering and that I may be enabled by Your SPIRIT to HOPE until the end.

I know it is not Your will for me to live in discouragement and despair. I recognize that my sense of hopelessness is the work of the enemy. Please forgive me for my lack of hope, Father. I renounce all hopelessness now and I replace it with the FAITH and HOPE Your WORD promises.

Help me to be like Abraham who believed in HOPE against all HOPE. I know that the HOPE You are imparting to me, Father, will prevent me from being ashamed. You are filling me with Your HOPE, JOY, PEACE and FAITH so that I will abound in HOPE through the Power of the HOLY SPIRIT. Thank you , Father.

I put on the breastplate of righteousness and a right relationship with You, based on submission, trust and obedience. And for the helmet, I put on the HOPE of SALVATION. Lord Jesus Christ, You love me with an everlasting love, and You have given me everlasting consolation (COMFORT) and good HOPE through grace. I receive your precious gift in my life now, Lord.

I resolve to lay hold of the HOPE You have set before me Father. Your HOPE is the anchor of my soul and it is sure and steadfast. I will HOPE continually, and I will yet praise You more and more.

Thank you for the happiness that comes from trusting in You, Lord. You are my HOPE in the day of evil. I trust in You and HOPE in You because You are my Father and my God. You have promised You will never leave me nor forsake me. You will always be with me. I take You at Your WORD, HOLY FATHER. I rejoice in You as You fill me with HOPE

anchor

Unshakable Hope

ABOUND IN HOPE!

Abound in Hope

Leave a Reply

