Who opens our eyes

“While so engaged, as I was traveling to Damascus with the authority and commission and full power of the chief priests,  at midday, O King, I saw on the way a light from heaven surpassing the brightness of the sun, shining all around me and those who were traveling with me.  And when we all had fallen to the ground, I heard a voice in the Hebrew dialect (Jewish Aramaic) saying to me, ‘Saul, Saul, why are you persecuting Me? [n]It is hard for you to kick[repeatedly] against the [o]goads [offering pointless resistance].’  And I said, ‘Who are You, Lord?’ And the Lord said, ‘I am Jesus whom you are persecuting.  Get up and stand on your feet. I have appeared to you for this purpose, to appoint you [to serve] as a minister and as a witness [to testify, with authority,] not only to the things which you have seen, but also to the things in which I will appear to you, [choosing you for Myself and] rescuing you from the Jewish people and from the Gentiles, to whom I am sending you,  to open their[spiritual] eyes so that they may turn from darkness to light and from the power of Satan to God, that they may receive forgiveness and release from their sins and an inheritance among those who have been sanctified (set apart, made holy) by faith in Me.’ – Acts 26:12-18

And now, brethren, take this one conviction into your hearts, that what makes a man a Christian-what saves my soul and yours-what brings the love of Christ into any life, and makes the sacrifice of Christ a power to pardon and purify,-that that is not merely believing this Book, not merely understanding the doctrines that are there, but a far more profound act than that. It is the casting of myself upon Himself, the bending of my willing heart to His loving Spirit; the close contact, heart to heart, soul to soul, will to will, of my emptiness with His fulness, of my sinfulness with His righteousness, of my death with His life: that I may live by Him, be sanctified by Him, be saved by Him, ‘with an everlasting salvation.’ Faith is trust: Christ is the Object of faith. Faith is the condition of salvation; and unbelief is your fault, your loss-the crime which ruins men’s souls! – MacLaren

The heathen, even the learned Greeks and Romans, were in a state of great darkness, i.e., ignorance and error, as to spiritual things. By the preaching of the gospel and the influences of the Spirit, men are translated from this darkness. – Biblical Illustrator

May his Spirit today win our hearts and bend our stubborn wills to his. – James McCullen

Pray the Holy Spirit would open eyes, convict of sin, and give a hunger and thirst for righteousness.

We know that it is only the Holy Spirit who opens our eyes.  We know that it is only God who destroys sins and adopts us with the saints.  But God frequently gives his ministers the honour that is due only to him, in order to commend the power of his Spirit working through them. – John Calvin

eyes_wide_open_1680x1050

THEIR  EYES  WERE  OPENED

Listening to Jesus Opens Our Eyes

 

Leave a Reply

